What You Need to Know About Misdemeanors in San Antonio, Texas
Knowing the law is every citizen’s right. If you or someone you love is charged with a misdemeanor in the San Antonio region, there are things you should know. Misdemeanors are broken down into three classes.
A Class A misdemeanor includes crimes such as carrying a gun without a permit and pimping. The penalty is up to one year in jail and a fine that will not exceed $4,000.
A Class B misdemeanor includes things such as possession of two ounces of marijuana or less. The penalty is up to 180 days in jail and a fine of no more than $2,000.
Class C misdemeanors include theft of property valued at under $50. Class C misdemeanors are subject to a fine of up to $500.
If the offense was violent, the penalty is usually near the maximum and the perpetrator will not be eligible for any special programs. Probation is a common option, but the conviction remains on the offender’s permanent record. The charge will often be dismissed after completion of a diversion program or a suspended sentence, which is usually the ideal option. These are much more likely to be granted to first time offenders. Texas in particular frowns on repeat offenders.
Because of the many possible sentencing options, it is essential to have the aid of an attorney for your criminal defense. The system is very complex and can be very difficult to navigate without the proper guidance and expertise. Contact Jean Brown Law Firm for advice on all family and criminal court matters.
ABOUT JEAN BROWN
Contact Us Now
Free Case Evaluation